The Wellington Region, also known as Greater Wellington, is a local government region of New Zealand that occupies the southern end of the North Island. The area covers 8,049 square kilometres (3,108 sq mi) and is home to a population of 496,900.

The region is named after Wellington, New Zealand's capital city and region's seat. The Wellington urban area, including the cities of Wellington, Porirua, Lower Hutt and Upper Hutt, accounts for 80 per cent of the region's population. Other major urban areas include the Kapiti conurbation of Waikanae, Paraparaumu, Raumati-Paekakariki, and Masterton.

Over three-quarters of the population of the greater Wellington region reside in the four cities at the southwestern corner. Other main population centres are on the Kapiti Coast and in the fertile farming areas near the upper Ruamahanga River in the Wairarapa.

Along the Kapiti Coast, numerous small towns sit close together, many occupying spaces close to famous beaches. From the north, these include Otaki, Waikanae, and Paraparaumu, the twin settlements of Raumati Beach and Raumati South, Paekakariki and Pukerua Bay, a northern suburb of Porirua. Each of these settlements has a population of between 2,000 and 10,000, making this moderately heavily populated.

In the Wairarapa, the largest community by a considerable margin is Masterton, with a population of almost 20,000. Other towns include Featherston, Martinborough, Carterton and Greytown.

Read More

Wellington's favourite Pet Directory | Pet Friendly Accommodation | Dog Kennels & Catteries | Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals.

Read More